Morphine

I’ve never felt so angry while listening to Morphine
It was supposed to calm me down
It doesn’t seem to be working
I’m not the one with the problem
(Well, maybe I am)
But you’re the one with the boyfriend
Mediocre, no doubt
I told you to hit me up when you break up
It wasn’t a joke
Until then you might as well forget it.
You wonder why I never visited
Well, then as now, if you want me, you’d better let me know
Send a dispatch
I don’t care if it’s a pigeon or a packet
I’m not particular
But I know there’s nobody quite like me
And I think you know that, too.
I know it because I feel so utterly alone
But not lonely, usually
Until about 4 hours ago.
I’ll buy your drinks again
Money is a hollow pleasure
Two weeks ago I dreamt of a slick little coupe
Now I’ll buy that fucker and get out of town
More to forget than to enjoy
But where’s the line, anyhow?

Leave a Reply

