I only write

I only write poems when I’m romantically distressed
Well this is the one that is going to prove that wrong
So that if anyone reads these, they won’t think I’m a perpetually frustrated sod
Stroking himself to the sight of distant windmills.
It’s silly, I know, especially when practically nobody is going to read these
Least of all the subjects of my past frustrations.
If one of you is reading this, you’re proving me wrong
Or I’ve sent you a link and this is all an elaborate set-up.
Is that brilliant, or just painfully self-obsessed?

When it comes down to it, though, the fact that you are here is complete dumb chance
There’s very little quality control on the Internet
A fact which may be poised to change,
But not for the better.

Leave a Reply

