Red Herring

Walking back from the liquor store I was gripped by a desire to create something fiercely beautiful
In that moment my focus was crystalline and I felt whole, determined
Heating soup and bread my thoughts oscillated between these poles
The height of my ambition, the power of art, the grinning wolves consuming it all whole,
And you
Oh, such hubris to write me off after a mere two encounters
I am rich and my depths would excite you, as you were excited by what bubbled to the surface, but so much more
I am no fool
I see it all too clearly
My mind spins petty doughnuts in the parking lot
I pour two fingers of bourbon and open my phone to chart the course of my past hour
As if it was important
I was gripped by a desire to create something fiercely beautiful
But this isn’t it

Leave a Reply

